The Head of the Centre of Neurology Dr Toomas Toomsoo is Doctor of the Year 2014

19. December 2014

The ceremony where the Employees of the Year of East-Tallinn Central Hospital are honoured was held for the tenth time this year.Thehead of the Centre of Neurology Dr Toomas Toomsoo was awarded the title Doctor of the Year 2014.

As he thanked the employees at the ceremony, the CEO of East-Tallinn Central Hospital Ralf Allikvee said that the hospital wants to recognise its dedicated employees even more in the future:the people who have contributed to the hospital’s success for many years, who have walked the same road with us and who have given the best years of their working lives to the East-Tallinn Central Hospital.The annual Employee of the Year ceremony is a way of noticing and thanking good colleagues.

The title of Doctor of the Year 2014 went to the head of the Centre of Neurology Dr Toomas Toomsoo, who has stood out with his work on several occasions.Under his leadership, the Centre of Neurology of the East-Tallinn Central Hospital has been a frontrunner in terms of treatment quality, and the work of Dr Toomsoo and his colleagues in the field of the diagnostic biomarkers of Parkinson’s disease was recognised at the Days of the Faculty of Medicine of the University of Tartu as the best oral presentation made at the event.

Toomsoo himself says that his colleagues at the East-Tallinn Central Hospital are great and the hospital itself is an extremely pleasant place to work. He also says, “We’re all out for the same thing – there’s never any doubt about it.I know that our team works well.In particular, I would like to mention our great nurses who support the excellent doctors of our centre with their professionalism and whose hard work and dedication also allows me to stand out, because when you’re trying to do something big you cannot do it alone – you need a strong and loyal team. Hand on my heart, I can say that I’m happy here and now.”

The others who received a mention as Doctors of the Year are gynaecologist/senior doctor Irina Ploom, anaesthesiologist/senior doctor Katrin Lind, laboratory specialist/senior doctor Elo Saue, gynaecologist Jekaterina Žuravljeva, ophthalmologist Juri Ivanov, otorhinolaryngologist Kristel Kalling and rehabilitation specialist Kelly Kirt.

Nurse of Cardiology Department II of the Clinic of Internal Medicine Maria Käosaar was declared the Nursing Employee of the Year 2014, and the title of Care Worker of the Year 2014 went to carer of the Nursing Care Department I of the Clinic of Medical Rehabilitation Olga Urban.The East-Tallinn Central Hospital also gave awards to the best cleaning worker, customer service worker and secretary for the seventh time.The title of Customer Service Worker of the Year 2014 went to Kristine Premet, the title of Cleaning Worker of the Year 2014 to Larysa Tsuskar and the title of Secretary of the Year 2014 was received by Sinikka Jarinen.

The East-Tallinn Central Hospital also recognises clinical support specialists and non-clinical specialists.

The Clinical Support Specialist of the Year 2014 is social worker of the Centre of Internal Medicine Anni Raie and the Non-clinical Specialist of the Year 2014 is senior engineer of the Medical Equipment Division Priit Ruuge.


Kadri Penjam

Communications Specialist